Faros invitation 2015

Dear Friends,

We would like to inform You of the date of our next 40th CROATIAN INTERNATIONAL LONG DISTANCE SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIP — FAROS MARATHON 2015 (16 km) which is going to be held in Stari Grad, Hvar Island, Croatia on the Auqust 29th 2015 (Saturday). 2012 Faros Marathon became the first marathon in the World which inducted in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame as Honour Organisation. Read more

Father-Daughter Rivalry In Faros Marathón

While Anastasia Krapivina of Russia comfortably won the women’s division over local Karla  Sitić at the 16 km Faros Maratón in Croatia, there was another interesting race within a race.  This rivalry was father-daughter style. 44-year-old dr. Josip Aralica and his 17-year-old daughter Lucija both swam the 39th edition of Faros Maratón.

This was Josip’s fourth Faros Maratón and it was Lucija’s second attempt. Last year, Lucija couldn’t keep up with dad: 3:52:15 to 3:56:45 with the good doctor 4 and a half minutes ahead. Read more

39th Faros marathon – Matteo Furlan first time

Matteo Furlan (Italy) won at the 39th Faros Marathon. This is a first victory for this italian swimmer. The best Croatian swimmer was Marin Milan (KDP Split), who finished seventh with time 3:19:49.

Vlodymyr Voronko (Ukraine) was second with 3:11:56 with same result as Xavier Dasharnais, (Canada). The second-best time of the Croatian swimmers was Duje Milan (KDP Split), with a time 3:19:50, who finished at eights position. The third-best Croatian swimmer (10th in total) was Roko Spadina (KDP Split), with a time 3:43:23. Read more