42nd Faros marathon

angela-maurer2Like last year we saw a duel in the finish of the 42. Faros marathon (the International Croatian Championship in long distance swimming which takes place every last Saturday in August) that was not decided until the last second. This year among the participants were Guillermo Bertola from Argentina and Matteo Furlan, the winner of the last three marathons. Matteo won again and for the fourth time in a row raised the big cup in the port of Stari Grad. Matteo’s time was 3:12:35, while Bertola, in what was his first participation at the Faros Marathon, had time 3:12:37 and won the second place. The third place won  Lars Bottelier from Netherlands. His time was 3:12:47. Of the domestic competitors, the best was Dino Spadina (KDP Split) with time 3:20:00 (sixth place overall).

This year’s Faros was again won by Angela Maurer from Germany, one of the three best marathon swimmers of all time. With a score of 3:13.04 she arrived to the nineth victory in Stari Grad, making her the absolute record holder. On the second position was Christine Jennings from USA (3:15:06) Faros 2009 winner and still the current recorder of race (3:04:09) , while third place took Aygul Sagirova (last year she was on the 2nd position) with the time 3:22:06. Of the domestic competitors, the best was Doris Beros (KDP Split) with time 3:27:33 (in the overall fifth place).